Poetry? Are You Crazy or Just Plain Stupid?

To be honest, I wasn’t really sure how to start this blog. Not that I’m a complete idiot and don’t know what blogging is. I just honestly could not think of any interesting way to start one. I knew though that I had to.
Any article I have read about being a writer suggests you have a blog that your readers can follow. So here it is and here I am, my first blog entry. By the way, many of my ex girlfriends will probably disagree about me not being a idiot.
Since publishing my first book Darkness: Poems of Extreme Horror (Yes self promotion! Love it right?) many people have asked me why poetry? Why do you write poems?
I like poetry a lot but I would not consider myself a huge reader of it. On my book shelf at home you wont find any poetry collections or things like that. Don’t get me wrong, I do have a great respect for poems and the many famous poets that are out there. I guess I just wouldn’t consider myself to be a hardcore poetry fan boy (if a poetry fan boy even exists).
When I write a poem to me it’s like painting a picture. Your creating a scene, a image. Only with poetry your using words rather then a paint brush. The best poems to me are the ones were you visualize a image in your head right away. If your reading a poem and a image pops in your head instantly, then you my friend have a good poem on your hands. Way to go!
To be honest, I don’t know why I enjoy writing poetry. I just find it fun and entertaining. I think it’s both a easy and complicated way to tell a story. Poetry is not all I like and hope to write. I do know it’s a way to tell a story I will continue to use for quite a while.
I am currently working on another poetry collection titled As the Blade Cuts. It’s similar to Darkness but more extreme. Darkness was a mixture of traditional and extreme horror, while As the Blade Cuts is pure weird and extreme horror. I am also working a collection of short stories that I plan to tackle more once As the Blade Cuts is finished.
Thanks for taking the time to read my first blog posting. If you have already fallen try to not drool on your keyboard. If the water gets inside of it then your fucked my friend. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

